New Release Round-Up 05-15-20

New Releases

Sleaford Mods - All That Glue - Rough Trade
Sleaford Mods are set to continue their onslaught into 2020 with the release of All That Glue, a collection of songs spanning the last seven years of the bands career; an array of crowd pleasers, B sides, unheard tracks and rarities for fans and the curious, released via Rough Trade.

Moby - All Visible Objects - Mute U.S.
The 17th studio album by iconic electronica musician Moby. Includes the single "Power is Taken", featuring Dead Kennedys drummer D. H. Peligro and rapper Boogie.

Jess Williamson - Sorceress - Mexican Summer
Offering a deep-hued kaleidoscope of dusty ‘70s cinema, ‘90s country music and breezy West Coast psychedelia, Jess Williamson’s ‘Sorceress’ weaves a woman’s wild love letters to a confusing present and uncertain future—with reflections on femininity and the pursuit of perfection, New Age beliefs and practices, critiques of capitalism and social media and more. An album about loss of innocence and acquired wisdom that’s self-critical, self-assured and soul-searching.

Chatham County Line - Strange Fascination (First Edition) - Yep Roc
North Carolina's cherished Americana band is back with a new look and feel! Chatham County Line's 12th studio album, Strange Fascination features newly added drums and modern effects that drive a revamped sound. From the dreamy shuffle of 'Oh Me Oh My' to the bold acceptance of 'Leave this World,' the group demonstrates their sharp self-awareness with a good dose of humor. A beautifully crafted album, Strange Fascination highlights the band's exceptional songcraft and musicianship, as well as their continual innovation.

Thao & The Get Down Stay Down - Temple - Domino
Thao & The Get Down Stay Down, the San Francisco-based band fronted by singer and songwriter Thao Nguyen, release their fifth studio album Temple. The album is among Thao's most open and honest work yet, finding her coming out in her public life after a long career in which she kept her queer identity quiet in an effort to avoid turmoil with and alienation from a family and culture she deeply loves. Temple follows Thao & the Get Down Stay Down's 2016 album A Man Alive which was released to widespread critical praise. NPR Music called it a 'brilliant, jarring new album'[Nguyen's] most rewarding work yet,' while Pitchfork raved that it is 'Nguyen's most rhythmically robust, gleefully discordant release to date' and Stereogum called it 'explosive and melodically dense.' Over the past year Thao served as guest host of the acclaimed podcast Song Exploder.

Jamie xx - Idontknow [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition 12in Single] - Young Turks
Following 2015’s In Colour and global touring with The xx, Idontknow is Jamie’s return to the club. It lived through late 2019 - everywhere from Jamie’s own low-key parties In London and LA to OIL Club in Shenzhen, Caribou’s BBC Essential Mix to Ben UFO on The Lot. Now in uncertain times, it remains a release of energy - to move to, let loose to and to look forward to parties again.



Hamilton Leithauser - The Loves Of Your Life
Two Feet - Pink
Ruston Kelly - Dirt Emo Vol. 1
Between The Buried And Me - Between The Buried And Me: Remastered [LP]
Hanni El Khatib - Flight
Perfume Genius - Set My Heart On Fire Immediately
Western Addiction - Frail Bray
Nahko and Medicine for the People - Take Your Power Back
Paradise Lost - Obsidian
Jonah Mutono - Gerg
Devangelic - Ersetu
Nick Hakim - Will This Make Me Good
Gerry Cinnamon - The Bonny
Vundabar - Either Light
Special Consensus - Chicago Barn Dance
Mozzy - Beyond Bulletproof
Johanna Warren - Chaotic Good
Buscabulla - Regresa

& More .....

Colton Dixon - Colton Dixon EP
Travis Denning - Beer's Better Cold EP
Bicep - Atlas
Weezer - Hero
Jade Hairpins - Dolly Dream


Steve Earle & The Dukes - Ghosts of West Virginia

Steve Earle & The Dukes - Ghosts of West VirginiaSteve Earle & The Dukes - Ghosts of West VirginiaSteve Earle & The Dukes - Ghosts of West Virginia - New West Records
Ghosts of West Virginia centers on the Upper Big Branch coal mine explosion that killed twenty-nine men in that state in 2010, making it one of the worst mining disasters in American history. In ten deftly drawn sonic portraits, Steve Earle and his band The Dukes explore the historical role of coal in rural communities. More than merely a question of jobs and income, mining has provided a sense of unity and meaning, patriotic pride and purpose.

Early Listen Available Video Available


Blake Mills - Mutable Set

Blake Mills - Mutable SetBlake Mills - Mutable SetBlake Mills - Mutable Set - Verve
Los Angeles-based guitarist, composer, and producer Blake Mills announces forthcoming album Mutable Set. Much of the material was co-written with acclaimed singer-songwriter Cass McCombs, and this is Mills' first album of solo music with lyrics since 2014's "Heigh Ho" and second release under New Deal Records / Verve Label Group.

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced


The Teskey Brothers - Live At The Forum

The Teskey Brothers - Live At The ForumThe Teskey Brothers - Live At The ForumThe Teskey Brothers - Live At The Forum - Glassnote
Following up the Grammy nominated album "Run Home Slow", Australian soul band The Teskey Brothers are back with their new live album "Live At The Forum" out 5/22. The album was recorded on tape during their two day residency at the iconic Forum Melbourne in Australia this past November. Opaque Blue Vinyl.

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced


For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section.

Pin It
back to top